Title field

9 posts by 3 authors in: Forums > CMS Builder
Last Post: October 1, 2010   (RSS)

By ginger - September 27, 2010

Hi,

I'm brand new to cmsb and I need some clarification about the "Title" field. Is this a required field? The reason I ask is that I had created a home page, but when I went back to edit it, it wouldn't allow me to save it without filling in the Title field.

What is the title field used for? Is this used for the title in the head of the document and for SEO purposes, or is it more of a page heading? I'm confused about this.

Thanks,
ginger

Re: [ginger] Title field

By Chris - September 27, 2010 - edited: September 27, 2010

Hi ginger,

The Title field is only "required" (to not be blank) because that's how it's configured by default. There's a checkbox to change this if you'd like — you can find it here: Admin > Section Editor > modify your section > modify the Title field > Input Validation > Required.

The Title field is used for whatever you'd like it to be used for. You could use it for the page title (<title>) as well as a heading (<h1>), or you could create another field for either if you wanted them to be different. If it turns out that you don't want to ever change the Title, you can even remove that field.

If you'd like, you can describe what it is you're trying to build and I can suggest how you might want to set up your sections and fields.

I hope this helps! Please let me know if you have any questions.
All the best,
Chris

By Chris - September 28, 2010 - edited: September 28, 2010

Hi ginger,