Random listing problem need help before weekend if possible

6 posts by 3 authors in: Forums > CMS Builder
Last Post: June 2, 2009   (RSS)

By willydoit - May 29, 2009

Hi Guys, hope you dont mind the cross post but there is obviously much more traffic in here than in the instant forum and my issue is fairly urgent before I continue working over the weekend.

[font "Verdana"]Hi,

I have a huge problem which will hopefully be easy to resolve, I have limited knowledge of cms builder and php so hope it is just a coding issue.

We have a number of accommodation sections and have set each section on the listings page to display 10 listings per page an example can be seen here
[url "http://www.interactivetools.com/forum/forum.cgi?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.interactivetools.com%2Fforum%2Fforum.cgi%3Furl%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252F79.170.44.106%252Fbridlington.net%252Flistings%252Fserviced_list.php"][font "Verdana"]http://79.170.44.106/bridlington.net/listings/serviced_list.php[/#003366][/url][font "Verdana"] (the site is in development so ignore any incidental issues). In this particular section of serviced accommodation we have 39 listings and we find that initial loading shows the page as being 1 of 4 which would seem to add up, however we are finding that throughout the 4 pages some accommodation is being listed a number of times and othewrs arent listed at all. (the site is being accessed by temperary measure so links to detail pages dont work unless bridlington.net/ is added to the path after the ip address but we assume this will be resolved when we change the nameserver details so the domain resolves)

I assumed that upon loading, the page would cache somewhere all the appropriate listings and pre create the required pages, however it seems as though when the next page is selected a new random listing is displayed each time so in effect instead of getting a full random list across 4 pages we are seeing 4 pages of random lists.