Last Post: April 17, 2009   (RSS)

By Dave - March 19, 2008

No, we've used this one in the past: http://scriptsmill.com/comments.html
Dave Edis - Senior Developer
interactivetools.com

Re: [Dave] Comments on Blogs

By steve_e - March 20, 2008

Thanks for the link Dave.

Um - in case you don't get to creating this feature in CMS in time, can I ask a question about these two 3rd party scripts?

If you set up a section to use this with, how is the third party script going to 'attach' a series of comments to a particular record in a multi-page section? Is that going to be straightforward? I'd have thought it would be necessary to insert into the MySQL table to get this to happen.

I'm not that good with MySQL and PHP though so I may be talking through my hat. [:)]

By Dave - March 20, 2008

I actually haven't work with that particular script, but I've made some before. Typically how they work is you have some unique identifier for each page and the program uses that to know which comments are associated with which records.

So you might have an identifier of "tableName-recordNumber" which could be "news-3" for record 3 in the news section.

So you probably have a hidden field you create with that and then a PHP include or something like that to include the comments.

It probably has it's own mysql table and manages that itself. You might just want to give that script a try in advance to cover your bases. I know the consulting guys here can install it pretty quick so I don't think it's that hard to setup.

Hope that helps! :)
interactivetools.com

By Thomas - April 7, 2008

HI,

I am just about to launch my CMS site and comments would be really good right about now. Do you know if this might be added any time soon?

Yours hopefully

Re: [Thomas] Comments on Blogs

By Dave - April 8, 2008

Hi Thomas,

It's one of our top priorities but we don't have an estimated completion date yet. So it could be a while longer.
interactivetools.com

By Thomas - February 19, 2009

Hi,