Creating Search Results from a drop down list

10 posts by 2 authors in: Forums > CMS Builder
Last Post: May 2, 2008   (RSS)

By Liz1001 - March 29, 2008

Hi There;
I have read all the info on searching and other posts on using search, but am still having problem understanding what I need to do. I have created a search page that has a drop down list of products. I want to be able to make it so that when someone selects one of the items from the drop down list it will output all the cities that carry that product. Then on the results page, I want the cities to be hyper linked to a page that display all the clients in that city.

Sorry, I am still pretty new at php and feel like I know enough only to get me into trouble, I am sure this is possible. Thanks for any help

Re: [Liz1001] Creating Search Results from a drop down list

By Dave - March 31, 2008

Hi Liz, Welcome to the forums! :)

We can help you with that. A few questions first:

Have you created any sections editors or html mockups for the website pages yet or are you just getting started?

So the site will have sections for: products, cities, and clients?

Is there a max limit on the number cities a product or client will be in? If we knew there was going to be a max of say 5 cities, we could create an editor for products and clients and then have 5 pulldown fields for cities.

Let me know how many cities there needs to be and we'll figure something out.
Dave Edis - Senior Developer
interactivetools.com

Re: [Dave] Creating Search Results from a drop down list

By Liz1001 - March 31, 2008 - edited: March 31, 2008

Hi Dave - thanks for helping me out, I figured out some of the things like creating a form with a pull down list that sends the product chosen to a second page. http://www.therichlawncompany.com/?page_id=51

Where I am having a problem is only listing on the second page the actual cities that have that product chosen.