populating search box fields and directing the user to the correct place

6 posts by 2 authors in: Forums > CMS Builder
Last Post: June 26, 2008   (RSS)

By rentittoday - June 24, 2008

Hello all,

I am pretty new to php and mySql but am trying my best. I have a few things that I want to do but am not even sure if they are possible and if so, where to begin.

We have a search box on our homepage, with help from your forums and trial and error I was able to create a dropdown list that is populated by one of our tables in the database.(I created a separate editor and added our categories as listings.) Inside each of these categories are subcategories.

Is there a way to populate a subcategories drop down list based on what the user selects for the category?
(ex: There is an Automobile Rentals category, inside that are subcategories such as Sports Cars, Classic Cars, etc.)

Also, I have setup different "viewers"(templates) for each category (ex: Automobiles has its own page, which is different from say, Books and Audio) When the user chooses Automobiles and clicks "Sumbit" I want the results to display on the viewer (template) for Automobiles. If the user chooses Books and Audio, the results should display on the Books and Audio viewer(template).

The search box in question is located here:
http://www.rentittoday.com/portal_page.php

Thank you in advance for your help.
Jason Glass

Re: [rentittoday] populating search box fields and directing the user to the correct place

By Dave - June 24, 2008

Hi rentittoday,

It sounds like what you want is "chained select pulldowns". I found an example here: http://bonrouge.com/~chain_select_js and more here http://www.google.ca/search?q=javascript+chained+selects.

Basically you have two or more select (pulldown fields), and when you select the first one it updates the second one with "sub options".