Limit a Geocoder multi pin map to a radius from a visitor entered Zip/Postal code

By gkornbluth - November 8, 2018

Hi All,

This is my first time dealing with the Geocoder's sample_map_multi.php example to make a multi pinned map and I’ve got it looking pretty good on the site I’m working on. http://dbtproviders.com/map_multi.php

I’d like to be able to limit what the map shows to a distance from a visitor entered zip/postal code and although I see, and have used, the code in the sample_search.php example, and have seen some code snippets on-line, I have no idea how I’d combine the lot to accomplish the limiting.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks,

Jerry Kornbluth

The first CMS Builder reference book is now available on-line!

Take advantage of a free 3 month trial subscription, only for CMSB users, at: http://www.thecmsbcookbook.com/trial.php

By daniel - November 14, 2018

Hi Jerry,

The general idea of what you'll want to do is add an input field to your page for users to enter their ZIP/Postal code, and then use the code from sample_search.php to apply the proximity limits. The relevant code is here:

// get geocoding data
  list($myLat, $myLng) = geocodeAddress( @$_REQUEST['fromAddress'] );
  $kmOrMiles           = 'miles'; // can be 'miles' or 'km'
  $geoOptions          = geocoder_getOptions($myLat, $myLng, @$_REQUEST['maxDistance'], $kmOrMiles);

// get records
  list($addressRecords, $addressMetaData) = getRecords(array(
    'tableName'     => $GLOBALS['GEOCODER_SAMPLE_TABLENAME'],
  ) + $geoOptions);  // geoOptions WILL NOT override the above options