help needed with geocoder display issue

By willydoit - July 19, 2017

Hi all,

firstly I am not a php programmer so please bear with me if you think I am talking rubbish.

My goal is to display a google map showing the locations of all our advertisers. The good news is that I have this working, the problem however is Google maps long running issue where if more than one item shares the same postcode it will only drop a pin for one of them , all others are ignored.

This is a huge issue as all our advertisers are based in a small area and many share the same postcode so a large number of our advertisers are not showing on the map. From the research I have done it seems that the only way to resolve this is to slightly alter the latitude or longitude figures slightly for those which have identical postcodes.

This would be nigh on impossible to administrate so was wondering whether there was a way when creating the array for the listing/map page to have each lat/long value checked for duplicate values and then alter the lat or long figures sufficiently to have google drop a pin for it.

As yet I havent found information on how different the lat/long figures need to be to force an individual pin so it would be helpful if anyone has any information/experience with this.

Any help or other working solution for this issue would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

By Twocans - July 23, 2017

This looks very very interesting.

Kenny

By willydoit - July 23, 2017 - edited: July 23, 2017

Hi Dave,

This looks as though it would resolve the issue, how would we implement it? i am sure this would help out a lot of geocode users.