Permalink dispatcher causing 403 error, site down

By JeffC - November 15, 2016

Hi, I have an urgent issue that I'm hoping someone can help me with. I've been running the permalinks plugin for several years without a problem. Yesterday a problem started, whenever you click on any link the following error occurs

You don't have permission to access /cmsAdmin/plugins/permalinks/permalinks_dispatcher.php on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

The host company says that the problem is that the permissions should be set at 755 but they are automatically changing to 750. They have changed them to 755, but, according to them, plugin changed its own permissions to 750.

Any ideas why this could be happening?

Jeff

By JeffC - November 16, 2016

Hi Damon

I gave you some duff information in my previous post. Sorry a time lag between myself and my customer (I am in UK, he is in Australia) meant the info is coming across piece by piece.

Although the error message refers to the permalink-dispatcher.php it is actually the permissions on the main cmsAdmin folder that are 'automatically' changing to 750. They are reset to 755 and then change back to 750.

I have explained to my customer that this can't just happen and that something must have been changed and, as I know it wasn't me, the server is the only option. The host company (CrazyDomains) is flatly refusing to accept any responsibility, so it has fallen on me to sort it out.

Thanks

Jeff

By gregThomas - November 16, 2016

Hi Jeff,

Is this happening on any other directories on the site? I'm wondering if you could create a simple demonstration of the issue for the host by creating a test directory on the site and seeing if it's permissions change automatically as well.

Also, does the change in permissions happen immediately, or when something specific happens, for example, the user views a PHP page in their browser.

Cheers,

Greg