how do I create a self populating filter list

7 posts by 2 authors in: Forums > CMS Builder
Last Post: July 3, 2014   (RSS)

By willydoit - June 30, 2014

Hi all,

I have just created a table for local authors and their books, I have created a list page that will list every book in the table, as some authors have more than one book available I would like to be able to allow the viewer to filter the list by author if they wish so that the list just shows all the books available from their selected author.

What I would like to do is to have the drop down author list self populate from the table, is there a simple way to do this, I am sure there should be but I am not a coder so am a bit lost on this.

the table is called "literary_corner" and the field which contains the authors name is "author_name"

Any help anyone can provide with this would be gratefully received.

Thanks in advance

By mizrahi - July 1, 2014 - edited: July 1, 2014

<?php
  // load records from 'literary_corner'
  list($literary_corner_dropdown, $literary_corner_dropdownMetaData) = getRecords(array(
    'tableName'   => 'literary_corner',
    'loadUploads' => false,
    'allowSearch' => false,
  ));
?>

<form action="./" action="get">
  <select name="author_name">
    <?php foreach ($literary_corner_dropdown as $record): ?>
      <option value="<?php echo urlencode($record['author_name']) ?>">
        <?php echo htmlencode($record['author_name']) ?>
      </option>
    <?php endforeach ?>
  </select>
  <button type="button">Submit</button>
</form>

By willydoit - July 1, 2014

Hi Mizrahi,