Confused Newbie

9 posts by 4 authors in: Forums > CMS Builder
Last Post: August 7, 2009   (RSS)

By finz - August 1, 2009

I am a newbie, have purchased a version of CMS Builder and working through it okay. While i find it fairly easy to understand The only area I am confused is the template design and navigation for the site i cannot find how the front end integrates with the admin backend.... Do you have to design and make a static html website and then paste code into it?

Re: [finz] Confused Newbie

By gkornbluth - August 2, 2009

Hi Finz,

I think that most of us will agree that designing pages (especially at first) seems to work best if you mock up your page in a static form before you create your section editors. Then look over your design, decide which areas of your page need to be dynamic, and begin to create database fields for those dynamic areas.

As you begin to create the data fields, copy the required php code from the code generator and paste it into your static page. Populate the field with some data, then test to see if it appears on your viewer page and if it works as expected.

Create and insert only one or two fields at a time, so that you can locate errors more easily.

One place to get clues about problems is to look at the source code of your live page.

It get's easier as you get more familiar with the process.

Good luck,

Jerry Kornbluth
The first CMS Builder reference book is now available on-line!

Take advantage of a free 3 month trial subscription, only for CMSB users, at: http://www.thecmsbcookbook.com/trial.php

By ross - August 3, 2009

Hi there.

Thanks for posting!

Jerry's definitely got some good advice for you there. I also agree that your template is going to be the best place to start. Once you have the template done, you'll know exactly what parts need to be updated and from there, you'll know exactly what needs to be setup in CMS Builder so you can update everything. And then you start the integration.